IOSH membership levels explained

Membership Categories

Many times, we (over)hear Safety professionals talk of gaining higher qualification to attain a new membership. So, what exactly are these memberships? Who is eligible to apply for one of those? Let’s find out all we need.

Affiliate Member:

Everyone joins as an Affiliate Member. Once they’ve accepted your application and payment, you’ll get immediate access to their membership benefits and services for one year.


Associate Member (AIOSH):

This category demonstrates that you have a clear understanding of health and safety through a nationally recognised qualification.

This is the ideal category if you’re looking to show the world that you take health and safety seriously and is suited to a wide range of professions.

To become an Associate member, you must have an accredited qualification.

Check the list of accredited courses they accept for Associate membership.

As an Associate Member, you can use the letters AIOSH after your name.

If you’re currently practising in health and safety and have experience, you should apply for Technical Membership and maintain your CPD, as Associate membership does not reflect your status as a professional.

Photo by Samuel Zeller on Unsplash

Technical Member (Tech IOSH):

This category recognises the qualifications and competence needed by professionals working in a range of operational health and safety roles. To become a Technical member, you must have a suitable level of experience in a health and safety role, as well as an accredited qualification.

To maintain your status and keep your skills, knowledge and experience up to date, you’ll join their Continuing Professional Development (CPD) programme.

Check the list of accredited courses they accept for Technical membership.

As a Technical Member, you can use the letters Tech IOSH after your name.

To keep your Technical Membership status, you must maintain your CPD record.


Graduate Member (Grad IOSH):

This category is for people who are working towards becoming Chartered Members. They will be asked to complete Initial Professional Development (IPD). To qualify for this level of membership, you’ll need to have completed an IOSH-accredited degree level qualification.

Check the list of accredited courses they accept for Graduate membership.

As a Graduate Member, you can use the letters Grad IOSH after your name.

All Graduates maintain a CPD record.


Chartered Member (CMIOSH):

As the only organisation in the world that offers Chartered membership to health and safety practitioners, they can help you achieve the highest professional standards.

Employers know that when they work with a Chartered Safety and Health Practitioner, they’re dealing with someone who’s at the top of their profession. Our Chartered Members also have the respect of their peers – other professionals know that they’ve been through a rigorous process to become Chartered and have met the high standards of the world’s most prestigious body for health and safety professionals.

You can only become a Chartered Member after gaining Graduate membership.


Why become a Chartered?

Businesses, employers and recruitment consultants are already well used to working with and hiring Chartered professionals. They recognise Chartered status as shorthand for ‘best in class’, and they know they’ll get the highest professional standards from a Chartered individual.

The Chartered status will help you:

  • improve your ability to influence decision-makers
  • work on an equal footing with other professionals
  • increase your future employability

As a Chartered Member of IOSH, you’re entitled to use the designation Chartered Safety and Health Practitioner and the designatory letters CMIOSH. All Chartered Members need to maintain a CPD record.


Chartered Fellow (CFIOSH):

Fellowship of the Institution is awarded only to Chartered Members of at least five years’ standing who can demonstrate an outstanding commitment to the health and safety profession. Fellows go ‘above and beyond’ the call of duty and are the ‘ambassadors’ of the Institution. Applicants must satisfy the Institution that they meet this definition.

Specifically, we look for evidence that the applicant has:

  • carried out outstanding service on local, national or international professional committees
  • produced peer-acclaimed contributions or improvements to the public understanding of occupational safety and health
  • been involved in the development of occupational safety and health through work in IOSH at any level (branch, group, standing committee and so on)
  • helped to develop and influence the careers of others, including less experienced occupational safety and health professionals
  • actively researched, developed and applied original work or expertise in occupational safety and health
  • including activities begun as a work requirement that they’ve taken beyond that requirement

Please note that this list is not exhaustive, and applicants don’t have to have met all these criteria.

As a Chartered Fellow of IOSH, you’re entitled to use the designation Chartered Safety and Health Practitioner and the designatory letters CFIOSH. All Chartered Fellows need to maintain a CPD record.


For more information on Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *